Santorum’s Literary Knowledge

Perhaps, I am too easily impressed. Perhaps, I am sucker for things that have nerd-culture references. Maybe I’m just too emphatic.

But you know what?

It just gives me literary English-major pleasure when some one quotes one of my favorite authors. To make it even unfathomably better: this particular author shares my birthday

Oh so beautiful, my lovely Santorum.

“As the hobbits are going up Mount Doom, the Eye of Mordor is being drawn somewhere else,” Santorum said. “It’s being drawn to Iraq and it’s not being drawn to the U.S.,” he continued. “You know what? I want to keep it on Iraq. I don’t want the Eye to come back here to the United States.”

Look beyond the cultural and political references. I understand that’s what we’re drawn to first here on the liberal internet. -cough- Step back with me.

Look at this metaphor.

Look at this analogy.

Look.

I don’t know who or what the “eye” is, and yet I can understand the grave threat posed by the analogy as perceived by Santorum. Using literature to parallel politics is every English-majors dream. Or rather, it is the dream perceived by those that prefer Marxist, Cultural, Reader Response, or New Historicism styles of critiquing.

So even if you hate what Santorum stands for on the political level, at least appreciate the beauty that is literary reference. Smile, shake you head in agreement. And then go back to being disagreeing again.

 

Leave a Reply

