why is it “The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread”?

and what makes it so great?

as a lover of food, it astonishes most people to realize that I rarely eat bread. normally, I prefer whole grains in my diet. Otherwise, I am almost completely gluten-free. But even I find myself slipping into old American colloqiuals, and when I find a staple that I like most, I say:

It’s the best thing since sliced bread!”

All emphatics aside (as I chew my heated up grape nuts) where did this phrase originate from?

Ironically enough, an Iowa-born resident invented the bread cutter in the mid 1920’s. His invention spread from Iowa and into the other big areas of the midWestern baking companies. Soon, the invention of the toaster made it imperative to have sliced bread. A combination of all these inventions led to one particular company we all know and love (ick): wonder bread.

Touting the “best thing since sliced bread” Wonder Bread wanted to penetrate the American households. As the first ones to market sliced bread, they wanted to connect with consumers. They needed to make us think that this bread was just as good as our local bakeries down the street.

Decades later, I am still left wondering. Wondering why it took this long for us to realize that prepackaged bread is one of the unhealthiest things we can put into our bodies. Wondering how this product began to be seen as so Wonderful? I am gladdened at least that much of Wonder Bread and it’s subsidiaries aren’t pulling in enough revenue . It finally is being shown that we don’t want to eat fluffed powder sugar baked into bread shape.

We want actual bread people. We want something that actually tastes like bread.

As for me, I’ll stick with my grape nuts until I can fully trust my bread makers or get enough of an inclination of making my own.

 

One thought on “why is it “The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread”?

Leave a Reply

